Weather Forecast


Incumbents sweep Tuesday's township elections in Castle Rock, Empire and Eureka

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Farmington, 55024
Farmington Minnesota P.O. Box 192 / 312 Oak St. 55024

Castle Rock Township officials will now be able to appoint the township clerk, after a close vote in Tuesday's township elections.

The question of whether the clerk's position should be appointed or elected passed on a 98-73 vote. It was the only question on a ballot for any of Farmington's surrounding townships.


Polls closed at 8 p.m. in Castle Rock, Empire and Eureka. Castle Rock experienced the highest voter turnout, with as many as 175 ballots being cast in the race for the Supervisor B seat. In that race, incumbent David Nicolai regained his position on the board by receiving 115 votes to challenger Jeff Partington's 60 votes.

Russ Zellmer ran unopposed for his Supervisor A seat. Zellmer received 120 votes. Another 20 write-in votes were cast by township voters.

Eureka township had a close race, too, as Supervisor 5 incumbent Kenneth Miller squeaked past challenger Nancy Sauber by just two votes. Miller received 154 votes to 152 for Sauber. There was one write-in vote.

Jamie Elvestad reclaimed his seat on the Empire Board of Supervisors. The incumbent, Elvestad received all 23 of the votes cast Tuesday. He ran unopposed.

Michelle Leonard