Weather Forecast


Little competition on ballots

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

news Farmington, 55024

Farmington Minnesota P.O. Box 192 / 312 Oak St. 55024

If it weren't for electing a couple of supervisors here and there, elections in Castle Rock, Empire and Eureka townships would be pretty quiet this year.


None of the three townships has any kind of a ballot question to be decided in the March 9 election. And, for that matter, one community has only one candidate to vote for to fill one vacancy.

That's Empire Township, where supervisor and incumbent Jamie Elvestad is the lone candidate in the upcoming election. Elvestad has filed to continue his position for another term of three years. He is running unopposed.

Eureka Township will likely name a new chairperson after the upcoming election. Jeff Otto, Eureka's current chairman, has decided not to seek reelection. Residents Christopher Prose and Kenny Miller have both registered for Otto's vacant seat. The post is for a three-year term. Miller currently serves on the township's planning commission.

Three posts are up for grabs in Castle Rock Township. Russel Zellmer has filed for reelection to continue his supervisor position for another three years. Zellmer is running unopposed. Town clerk Jane Bistodeau, also the incumbent, is running unopposed to maintain her seat for another two years.

The second supervisor position, though, has a challenger. Incumbent Michael Monroe Kiefer, who holds the Supervisor B position, is being challenged by planning commission member David Nicolai. Supervisor B is also a three-year term.

Township elections will be held March 9, 2010, at each of the respective town halls. Hours are 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Residents are encouraged to contact their town hall for absentee ballot information.