Weather Forecast


Two seats change hands in township elections

One Castle Rock Township official was unseated and a new Eureka supervisor was elected as a result of Tuesday's township elections.

In Castle Rock, David Nicolai beat out incumbent Michael M. Keifer by a nearly three to one margin for the three-year Supervisor B seat. Nicolai received 179 votes to Kiefer's 62.

Incumbent Russell Zellmer was reelected to the Supervisor A seat for another three-year term. Zellmer received 196 votes. There were 22 write-ins for the seat, as well. Castle Rock township clerk Jane Bistodeau was also elected to a two-year term, with 211 ballots cast in her favor. There were seven write-ins for the clerk spot.

In Eureka Township, Kenny Miller slid past Christopher Prose for the three-year Supervisor 5 spot previously held by Jeff Otto. Otto chose not to seek reelection this year. Miller received 70 votes, topping Prose's 56 votes. Another six write-ins were cast in that election.

There were no surprises in Empire Township, where incumbent Jamie Elvestad ran unopposed for another three-year term as supervisor. A total of 28 votes were cast in that election -- 21 of them went to Elvestad, the remaining were write-ins.

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974