Weather Forecast


Larson, Donnelly will return, Bonar will join Farmington City Council

Farmington mayor Todd Larson has earned the right to be called "mayor" for four more years.

Farmington's final mayor and city council results were not entered to the Minnesota Secretary of State until 12:15 a.m., Wednesday morning. But the results posted show that Larson triumphed in his bid for reelection by more than 2,100 votes over his closest challenger, David Pritzlaff.

Six precincts turned in numbers Tuesday night and early Wednesday morning. Larson topped the charts with a total of 5,351. Pritzlaff came in with 3,219 votes, followed by mayor candidate Jerry Wear, who received 732 votes.

In the race to fill two, four-year positions on the Farmington City Council, incumbent Terry Donnelly was reelected to serve another term. Donnelly received 5,928 votes. Farmington Planning Commission member Doug Bonar received the second highest number of votes with 4,181, successfully winning the position that will be vacated by current council member Julie May. May did not seek reelection in 2012. Kirk Zeaman, the third candidate on the city council's ballot, received 3,447 votes.

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974