Weather Forecast


Dodge, Boeckman middle school students named to state honor choirs

A record setting 20 students from Farmington Area Public Schools have been selected for a trio of State Honor Choirs as part of the ACDA (American Choral Directors Association) of Minnesota. The students will rehearse and perform with other students from throughout Minnesota at a special concert in November. This is the 50th anniversary for ACDA-MN.

Students interested in Honors Choirs from across the state send in audition recordings, which are judged by a panel of choral directors. The students selected will rehearse over the next month, then travel to Mahtomedi to spend a day rehearsing with a guest conductor. The 7-8 choirs will perform on Nov. 16, and the 4-5-6 choir will perform on Nov. 17.

The 4-5-6 honor choir include students from Dodge Middle School, Hunter Conrad, Teagan Coyer, Mae Meyer, Morgan Weberg, and Karisa Zakoski; and Boeckman Middle School's Brooke Pregler and Katie Struck.

Students selected for the 7-8 girls honor choir include Boeckman Middle School student Caroline Cummings; and Dodge Middle School vocalists Hannah Bishop, Taylor Dubbels, Makenna Hand, Taylor Julson, Kaitlyn Jurgenson and Julia Ristow.

Students selected for the 7-8 boys honor choir include Boeckman Middle School's Lucas Jansen, Corey Knutson, Max Schreifels; and Dodge Middle School students Logan Julson, Alex Koch and Caleb Poissant.