Weather Forecast


5 from Farmington make honor cheer team

Cheerleaders Kathryn Beckett, Cassidy Jelen, Marissa Opp, Mollie Meyers and Madi Jacobson were named to the MCCA Honor Team of Excellence on Jan. 31.

Five Farmington High School cheerleaders received some big honors during the recent Minnesota Cheerleading Coaches Association competition and convention.

Seniors Cassidy Jelen, Marissa Opp, Madi Jacobson, Kathryn Beckett and Mollie Meyers were named to the MCCA’s Honor Team of Excellence during a Jan. 31 awards banquet.

Opp was also named to the MCCA All-State Sideline Cheer Team, and received a $1,000 scholarship.

Cheerleading is not recognized as a sport or activity by the Minnesota State High School League, FHS coach Nancy Stein explained. Instead, it falls under the MCCA, which oversees all high school cheerleading teams in the state.

The cheerleading teams at FHS put in just as much practice time as any athletic team, Stein said. During the fall, they have after school practices Monday through Thursday, and then cheer during the football games on Friday.

The FHS cheerleaders had to try out for the MCCA Honor Team of Excellence, along with 80 other cheerleaders from around the state. The team is made up of 27 members.

“They’re an outstanding group of young ladies,” Stein said. “I’m very proud of them.”

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974