Weather Forecast


Township voters go to the polls Tuesday

Castle Rock clerk Jane Bistodeau could have a long day next Tuesday.

She'll be overseeing the most active township election race in this part of Dakota County, as three Castle Rock residents are vying for one seat on the township board of supervisors.

"It could get interesting," she said. "I hope we have a good turnout."

On average, Castle Rock sees about 220 voters for the annual elections. Given the race for the position of Supervisor E -- in which Monique Berg, Michael Kiefer and Sandy Weber are all candidates -- Bistodeau thinks there might be a higher voter turnout this year.

Berg, Kiefer and Weber all seek the position currently held by Mark Molitor, who has decided not to seek reelection. Also on this year's ballot is the Supervisor D position, held by incumbent Drea Doffing, who is running unopposed. Both supervisor seats are three-year terms.

Bistodeau's clerk position is also on the ballot. Additionally, a question on the ballot asks Castle Rock residents whether they think the township clerk's position should be appointed or elected. It is the only additional question on the ballot.

Polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Castle Rock Township hall. The township's annual meeting will begin at 8:30 p.m., Bistodeau said. On the agenda are reports from township officials, as well as the budget and levy for the next year. Election results will be canvassed following the annual meeting.

Eureka Township

Eureka Township has a two-way contest for one of the two seats up for election.

Incumbent Nancy Sauber is being challenged for her position as Supervisor Seat 3 by Mark Ceminsky. The Supervisor Seat 4 position currently held by Dan Rogers is sought by only one candidate, Gloria Belzer. Rogers will not seek reelection. Both seats carry three-year terms.

Residents will be able to cast votes at the Eureka Township Hall from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. The township's annual meeting will follow at approximately 8:15 p.m.

Empire Township

Probably the quietest race in the area will be held in Empire Township, where incumbent Ed Gerten is running unopposed to retain his seat on the Empire Township Board of Supervisors. Gerten's post is a three-year term.

The Empire Township Hall will be open to voters from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. The annual meeting will follow at approximately 8:15 p.m., according to township clerk Kathy Krippner. The annual meeting agenda will include reports and the annual budget and levy information.

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974