Weather Forecast


Township elections are Tuesday

Election season is here again. At least it is if you live in Castle Rock, Empire or Eureka township.

Polls are open from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., Tuesday, March 9, at each of the respective town halls. While none of the townships has a town question on the ballot, two of the three have contested races to fill supervisor seats.

All three townships will follow elections with the annual meetings.

Castle Rock

Castle Rock has maybe the most activity going on this year. Two supervisor posts and the clerk position are on the ballot.

For the Supervisor A position, Russell Zellmer is running unopposed. Two candidates are vying to fill the Supervisor B position. Incumbent Michael Kiefer is challenged by planning commission member David Nicolai. Both supervisor seats are for three year terms.

In last year's election, residents voted to make the town clerk post an elected seat rather than an appointed one. Town clerk Jane Bistodeau was appointed to a one-year term in 2009, until the next election. Now Bistodeau seeks election to the clerk seat. That term is for two years.

Castle Rock officials will hold their annual meeting and canvass election results after the polls close Tuesday. The annual meeting will include reports from the community's commissions and departments. The annual levy will be announced at that time, as well.


Empire township supervisor Jamie Elvestad is running unopposed. Elvestad's term is for three years.

The Empire board of supervisors will open the township's annual meeting at 8:15 p.m. A recap of the previous year's activity is on the agenda, as well as some discussion of future planning.

The regular meeting of the board of supervisors will follow the annual meeting.


Eureka township board of supervisors chairman Jeff Otto has chosen not to seek reelection, leaving his three-year seat open in this election. On the ballot to fill that seat are planning commission member Kenny Miller and resident Christopher Prose.

The annual meeting of the Eureka township board of supervisors is scheduled to begin at 8:15 p.m., Tuesday.

Absentee ballots

By law, townships are required to have a time prior to the election when residents can cast absentee ballots. All three town halls will be open from 10 a.m. to noon on Saturday, March 6, to allow residents to cast those ballots.

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974