Weather Forecast


Two new officials elected in township races

Eureka Township Board of Supervisors chairman Pete Storlie lost his bid to hold the Supervisor 2 seat in Tuesday’s township elections.

Former Eureka Township board of supervisors member Cory Behrendt defeated Storlie. Behrendt received 238 votes to Storlie’s 161 votes. There were 399 votes cast in that race.

Two seats were open in Eureka Township. For supervisor 1, incumbent Brian J. Budenski received 249 votes to Butch Hansen’s 149 votes. A total of 398 votes were cast in that race.

Eureka Township was the only local township to have a question on this year’s ballot. The special question on the ballot asked whether residents wanted to separate the township clerk and treasurer position. A total of 245 residents voted yes, while 132 voted no. There were 377 votes cast.

Other races

There will be a new face on the Castle Rock Township Board of Supervisors. Jeff Partington beat opponents Norbert Kuhn and Michael M. Kiefer, both former board members, in Tuesday’s township elections.

A total of 213 votes were cast in Castle Rock. Partington received 105, Kuhn received 90 and Kiefer received 18.

The supervisor seat Partington earned was vacated by Mike Rademacher, who retired from service on the township board.

In Empire Township, board chairman Terry Holmes received all 23 of the votes cast in that election. Holmes ran unopposed.

Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard joined the Woodbury Bulletin staff in November, 2014, after 14 years covering news for the Bulletin's sister publication, the Farmington Rosemount Independent Town Pages.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Mass Communications: News-Editorial from Mankato State University in 1991. She is an active member of the American Legion Auxiliary Clifford Larson Unit 189 of Farmington, and served as the 2014-15 Third District President to the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Minnesota. Michelle is also the volunteer coordinator for the Minnesota Newspaper Museum which is open annually during the Minnesota State Fair. She has earned Minnesota Newspaper Association awards in Investigative Reporting, Local News Coverage, Feature Photography and Column Writing. 

(651) 702-0974