Weather Forecast


Salaries are set for county board, administrators

Dakota County elected officials and administrator had their salaries frozen for 2010. They will be thawed slightly for 2011.

At its regular meeting this week, the Dakota County Board of Commissioners approved next year's compensation for itself, Dakota County Attorney James Backstrom, Dakota County Sheriff Dave Bellows, and county administrator Brandt Richardson.

The end result will be a 1 percent base adjustment plus $400 medical plan incentive payment. The county board developed the $400 payment to ease employee's financial transition to the new base medical plan.

Elected officials and county administrator compensation is reviewed annually. The elected officials'compensation for 2011 must be set before the end of the year, according to law.

The compensation for the officials for 2011 is: commissioner: $65,400, plus $400 medical plan incentive; administrator, $156,726; attorney, $156,726; and sheriff, $129,800, plus $400 medical plan incentive.

Commissioners may decline their 2011 pay increase and must file a declaration of their intent to do so by 4:30 p.m. Dec. 30.

The salary levels and other costs are provided for in the 2011 budget.

Nathan Hansen

Nathan Hansen has been a reporter and editor with the Farmington Independent and the Rosemount Town Pages since 1997. He is very tall.

(651) 460-6606