Weather Forecast


Thompson, Garofalo win reelection

Voters have chosen two familiar faces in Minnesota Senate District 58, returning incumbent Senator Dave Thompson and Rep. Pat Garofalo to the state Capitol Tuesday by convincing margins.

Both Thompson and Garofalo are Republicans.

Thompson, a lawyer and former talk show host from Lakeville who was seeking his second term in the Senate, beat challenger Andrew Brobston 22,513 to 16,396. Thompson received 57.9 percent of the vote.

Garofalo, a Farmington resident who was first elected in 2004, beat challenger Jim Arlt, an Independent who was endorsed by District 58B Democrats, 10,926 to 7,455. Garofalo received 59.4 percent of the vote.

Thompson currently serves on the commerce and consumer protection, education, judiciary and public safety and state government innovation and veterans committees.

Garofalo is currently chair of the House Education Finance Committee. He also serves on the redistricting, taxes and ways and means committees.

Other races

Voters also chose a familiar face -- and another Republican -- in the U.S. House race, where incumbent Republican John Kline won a close race over Democratic challenger Mike Obermueller. Minnesota Public Radio called the race for Kline with 90 percent of votes counted and Kline leading 144,682 to 122,910. In Dakota County voting Kline led 99,963 to 90,462.