Weather Forecast


Swimmers find success at State

Elizabeth Wolfe was one of two Farmington swimmers to earn all-state honors.1 / 2
Farmington freshman Kaitlyn O'Reilly swims to eighth place in Saturday night's finals of the 100 backstroke at the Class 2A State Swimming and Diving Championships at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center. O'Reilly joined Elizabeth Wolfe as an all-state swimmer. They are the first swimmers in FHS history to earn the honor.2 / 2

Three top-10 finishes lifted the Farmington girls swimming and diving team to its best team finish at the Class 2A Championships lasta weekend.

The Tigers accumulated 43 points to finish 17th out of 39 scoring teams in the field at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center. The program's previous best showing came in 2005 when 26 1/2 points was good enough for 21st place.

"This is the most successful state meet we have ever had," coach Jen Marshall said. "The girls had some good performances and it is definitely something to build on for future seasons."

Spearheading the effort were senior Elizabeth Wolfe and freshman Kaitlyn O'Reilly, who became the first Farmington girls swimmers to earn all-state honors.

Wolfe swam to a time of 1 minute, 7.77 seconds in Saturday's 100 breaststroke finals to finish seventh.

One event earlier, O'Reilly reached the wall eighth in the 100 backstroke final in a time of 58.82. She was the only freshman to make the finals. Junior Rachel Bootsma of Eden Prairie set a national record in the race, winning by nearly five seconds in time of 51.53.

O'Reilly also placed 15th in the 200 individual medley in a time of 2:11.25 and joined Wolfe, senior Caitlin Kracke and eighth-grader Kirsten Kracke for a ninth-place showing in the 200 medley relay. The finish left the Tigers just one second from all-state honors, but was still the best state relay finish in school history.

The Tigers also entered a team in the 200 freestyle relay, where O'Reilly, the Kracke sisters and Ellie Sundet combined for a 24th-place finish.

Edina outscored runner-up Eden Prairie, 247 1/2 to 223, to win the Class 2A team title.