Weather Forecast


One newcomer on Dakota Electric Association board

Dakota Electric Association's member-owners attended the cooperative's annual meeting April 4 at St. Michael's social hall in Farmington. Four incumbent directors and one new director were elected and bylaw amendments passed. David Jones, District 1, Jim Sheldon, District 2, Bill Holton, District 3 and Paul Trapp, District 4, were all re-elected to three-year terms. An open seat in District 1 was filled by the election of John (Jack) DeYoe of Lakeville to a one-year term.

Reports at the meeting included Greg Miller, president and CEO, who discussed Dakota Electric's customer service ratings and electric reliability, the potential effects of proposed legislation and other items.

Miller provided an overview of Dakota Electric's strategic plan and mentioned the possibility of a rate case in 2014.

The membership heard from Larry Schmid, vice president and CFO at Great River Energy, Dakota Electric's wholesale power supplier. Among other items, Schmid discussed Great River Energy's record power production with declining emissions in 2012.

Board chair Jim Sheldon thanked the board and employees for their hard work serving Dakota Electric's members and recognized retiring attorney Hap LeVander, who has provided legal services for Dakota Electric for 46 years. The audience also received a treasurer's report and an update on the sale of Dakota Electric's profitable subsidiary business, Energy Alternatives.