Weather Forecast


Farmington EDA changes board composition

FARMINGTON — The Farmington Economic Development Authority composition will change after a public hearing on Feb. 4, and Farmington City Council approves the change in an amendment to the city ordinance.

Currently, the seven-member EDA board is comprised of two City Council members, two District 192 School Board members and three residents.

City Council is recommending changing the composition that will include a representation of two City Council members, one School Board member and four residents.

City Council discussed making a change in the EDA at its Jan. 7 meeting. Council approved directing city staff to prepare for the change in the EDA composition at its Jan. 22 meeting.

Farmington Mayor Todd Larson will step away from his longtime seat on the EDA to make sure two City Council EDA position seats fall on opposite election cycles.

Larson, who announced he will not run for re-election as mayor, decided he will resign from the EDA board.

Currently, Larson and Council member Robyn Craig serve on the EDA board and both of their terms expire at the end of 2020.

During the Jan. 7 council meeting, Larson said Katie Bernhjelm and Joshua Hoyt expressed interest in serving on the EDA board. Both council members discussed who should serve and both agreed Bernhjelm will serve on the EDA.

According to city code, Bernhjelm's EDA term will run concurrent with her City Council term that runs through December 2022.

New residents appointed

City residents who applied to serve on various boards and commissions were interviewed at the Jan. 14, City Council work session.

The following residents were chosen to serve on city boards and commissions during the Jan. 22 meeting.

Council appointed Phil Windschitl to serve on the Farmington Planning Commission. He ran for a City Council seat and came in third place. Longtime Commissioner Dirk Rotty was reappointed to serve on Farmington Planning Commission along with Lydia Bjorge

Dennis Michaelis and Joan Moes were appointed to serve on the Rambling River Advisory Board from Feb. 1, 2019 through Jan. 31, 2022. William Weierke was appointed to serve on Farmington Water Board from Feb. 1, 2019 through Jan. 31, 2022.

Brian Tennant and Ashley Crabtree were appointed to serve on Farmington Parks and Recreation Board from Feb. 1, 2019 through Jan. 31, 2022. Elizabeth Koss will serve on the Parks and Recreation Board for the term of Feb. 1, 2019 through Jan. 31, 2020.

Council member Bernhjelm was appointed to serve on Farmington EDA from Feb. 1, 2019 through Dec. 31, 2022.